Promote your events and press releases in Sheffield for FREE! Forgotten Password? | Register | Login

Explore News

Talked About

Contribute +

Win a Signed, First Edition Copy of Local Author's Brand New Novel

Win a Signed, First Edition Copy of Local Author's Brand New Novel

The Radio by Barnsley Author M. Jonathan Lee

Last Updated:
Thu, 9 May 2013

Add Comment

Local Barnsley author M. Jonathan Lee’s new book ‘The Radio’ is a comedy that has been dubbed so black, you'll have to eat a lot of carrots to know whether the adventures within the pages are actually visible. Fans of Mark Haddon, Nick Hornby and Joseph Connolly will love this debut novel and by answering just one simple question you can be within a chance to win one of the signed first edition copies we have to give away to five lucky competition winners.

The Radio centres around the decline of the lovable, yet hapless George Poppleton, a middle-aged, henpecked father and husband who stumbles across an old transistor radio in his loft. His obsession with listening to the radio takes him on an unexpected journey, fuelled by the painful memories of the suicide of his only son many years before.

Whilst his only daughter, Sam, and wife, Sheila, plan perhaps the most ill-fated wedding ever conceived, the radio transports George further and further away from reality. The accidental return of Sam’s ex-fiancé, David, coupled with the endlessly drunk Auntie Lesley ensures that an almighty farce is just around the corner, ending with an unimaginable twist when the family realise that things are not at all how they seemed.

Inspired by novels such as Alex Garland's The Beach, The Radio will become a firm favourite of anyone who enjoys poignant yet humorous modern fiction about family. It has already received acclaim after being shortlisted for The Novel Prize 2012 and is a story about what it means to be a family, the perception of loving and being loved and overall, what it actually means to be sane.

Set to be the first book in a trilogy, The Radio is rumoured to already be under discussions for film rights and you can win a signed, first edition copy of The Radio by answering just one simple question:

What was the name of the first commercially available transistor radio?

A) Majesty QP-3
B) Regency TR-1
C) Queen SC-5

Please email your answer, name, address and telephone number to competition@towntalk.co.uk with the subject header 'The Radio Competition'.

Competition closes on Friday 31st May. The 5 winners who answer correctly will be picked at random and notified by phone or email within a week of closing date.

M. Jonathan Lee was born and bred in Barnsley and has always wanted to be a writer after self publishing his very own magazine about adventure games books at the age of 9. After going to university, travelling the world for a year and then getting married and having three children, a busy family and working life meant he had no time left to pursue his passion.

‘As the children got older, I found the time I had was beginning to increase. And so, a few years ago I pulled out my collection of old scribblings, journals and cutting and spread them out on the floor. I decided at that moment that I was going to make the time to pursue my dream, whatever it took. I burned the midnight oil night after night and used every second of free time to write. After twenty months filled with edit after edit and bouts of self-doubt, I finally finished The Radio’

After getting a divorce four years ago, and in between seeing his children and working an office job, he was able to write and finish his debut novel and is now currently working on his second novel, The Page, set to be another tale with a twist.

The Radio will be available online and from all major bookshops from Tuesday 30th April. An ebook version will also be available for £1.99.

For more information on the author visit www.jonathanleeauthor.com



Add Comment +

Security Code

Security Code is Case Sensitive & contains NO Spaces

CAPTCHA image sould be here

Back to Top

« Back to News